Talk Science Team

Talk Science was developed by TERC in close collaboration with the Mason School in Roxbury, MA, the Benjamin A. Banneker School in Cambridge, MA, Newton, MA Public Schools, the Lamoille North Supervisory Union in Vermont, sociolinguists from Clark University and Boston University, and scientists from Tufts University and Cambridge Community College. TERC, founded in 1965, is a non-profit research and development firm in Cambridge, MA that focuses on innovative projects in STEM education. Talk Science is funded by the National Science Foundation.

Principle Investigators

Susan J. Doubler, TERC
Harold McWilliams, TERC
Sarah Michaels, Clark University

Research and Development

Anushree Bopardikar, TERC
Sally Crissman, TERC
Sara Lacy, TERC
Elaine Mar, TERC
Gail Matthews-DeNatale, TERC
Lynn McCormack, TERC
Lisa Miller, TERC
Annette Sassi, TERC


Jim Galdos

Advisory Group

Chris Dede, Professor in Learning Technologies, Harvard University

Brian Drayton, Co-Director, Center for School Reform, TERC

Wynne Harlen, Visiting Professor, University of Bristol, Bristol, England
Catherine O’Connor, Director, Program in Applied Linguistics, Boston University
Carol Smith, Professor of Psychology, University of Massachusetts, Boston
Pat Fitzsimmons, Assistant Director of Assessment, VT Department of Education

Scientist Team

Laurie Baise, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Tufts University
Hugh Gallagher, Professor of Physics, Tufts University
Gary Goldstein, Professor of Physics, Tufts University
Linda Grisham, Dean of STEM Education, Mass Bay Community College

Michael Haritos, Earth Science Teacher, Boston Latin School
Chris Swan, Professor of Engineering, Tufts University
Roger Tobin, Professor of Physics, Tufts University
Lindley Winslow, Member of the Neutrino and Dark Matter Group, MIT


Katherine Frome Paget, Educational Development Center
Jackie DeLisi, Educational Development Center